RANDOM OLDIE
RANDOM OLDIE
bleh
Podcasts

Discussions in General Airbrushing

Painting, Airbrushing, Terrain and Modeling Forums
Airbrushing
General Airbrushing
Do I need a respirator when I use my airbrush?

TOPIC: Do I need a respirator when I use my airbrush?

Listing 1 to 4 of 4 Replies

PAGES: 1
NobleWizard
Do I need a respirator when I use my airbrush?

Initative
RK: 1
MP: 0

MAIL USER ADD USER TO FRIENDS LIST
Thursday December 4, 2014 1:48 PM
I've been airbrushing for about 4-5 months now without a respirator and I'm right next to a window and have just watched Ichibans video about airbrush safety and respirators and would like to know if I should dish out the money to get one.I am currently 15 years of age if that plays any factor to this.
RustyDice
RE: Do I need a respirator when I use my airbrush?

Initative

Thursday December 4, 2014 3:35 PM
The following is my own personal opinion not backed up by anything other than personal observations

I wouldn't airbrush without one –

My only ever all day paint session without a respirator was airbrushing an Ultramarine TacSquad. I sneezed blue for three days. Now I not only wear one when painting, but also when sanding or grinding plastic parts with my dremel. I when I changed my respirator over to a new one after about 18months, I took it apart to compare new filters with old. I wish I'd taken a picture to show you the amount of stuff it had stopped getting into my lungs.

Even if a given paint is so non-toxic it’s practically safe to drink, once it’s sprayed and aerosolised, then in my opinion all bets are off. I spray near a window with a desk fan on (and with a face mask). After a few weeks I noticed a load of paint dust on a lot of surfaces at the far end of the room, so there’s what opening the window did for me. I’m saving to buy a spray booth next. Though I can understand if you don't want to go to that level of expense or there's just no room for one in your personal battlebunker.